MCL Announces Schedule Changes, Revised Championship Series Dates

By: Brandon Vickrey

Chicago, Ill. – Aug. 8, 2020 – The Midwest Collegiate League has announced schedule changes impacting the end date of the 2020 regular season and the dates of the league’s championship series.

The league will hold its final day of regular-season competition on Friday, Aug. 14 and the best-of-three MCL Championship Series will take place Aug. 15-17. The regular season was originally scheduled to run through Wednesday, Aug. 19 with the championship series slated to take place Aug. 21-23, but the MCL has adapted its schedule due to the majority of the league’s players reporting to their respective college campuses soon for the start of the fall semester.

“We knew during this unprecedented season that we would have to be willing to be flexible and adapt our schedule as needed,” MCL Commissioner Don Popravak said. “At the time the schedule was developed, in-person classes for the fall semester were in question and the report dates for many institutions were unknown. We created the initial schedule with the hope of playing as many games as possible while knowing that an earlier end date was a possibility.”

All MCL Championship Series games will take place at Oil City Stadium in Whiting, Ind. between the teams that have the top two winning percentages in the league at the end of play on Friday, Aug. 14. The team with the top winning percentage will bat last in Game 1 and Game 3 of the championship series, while the team with the second-best winning percentage will bat last in Game 2.

Game 1 of the championship series will begin at 6:10 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 15 with Game 2 slated for Sunday, Aug. 16 at 4:10 p.m. If necessary, the decisive third game would take place on Monday, Aug. 17 at 7:10 p.m.

The championship series will not utilize the two new rules that were implemented for the 2020 regular season – nine innings will be played with no 10-run rule in place, and a runner will not be placed at second base to begin any extra innings. Traditional extra-inning rules will be used for the championship series.

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
May 2021
April 2021
August 2020
July 2020
June 2020
May 2020
August 2019
July 2019
June 2019
May 2019
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
May 2018
December 2017
August 2017
June 2017
May 2017
January 2017
December 2016
June 2016
May 2016
January 2016
July 2015
June 2015
April 2015
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
November 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
October 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
May 2011