Eight Vikings Selected to MCL South All-Star Team


     Top tier collegiate baseball players from throughout the Midwest and several from across the country will be on display on Tuesday, July 9 at Oil City Stadium in Whiting, the home of the Northwest Indiana Oilmen. The Midwest Collegiate League All-Star Game will feature the top players from the summer wooden bat league.
      The South All-Stars, who will be guided by Oilmen manager and former Kansas City Royal Justin Huisman, are comprised of players on the rosters of the Lexington Snipes, Southland Vikings and Northwest Indiana Oilmen. The South squad is made up of 10 Oilmen, eight Vikings and eight Snipes. 
      Outfielders Sean Beesley (Illinois State) and Dan Potempa (University of Iowa), infielders Jeff Boehm and John Livington (Purdue Calumet) and pitchers Alex Lesiak (Parkland College), Aaron Hauge (Southern Illinois), Declan McCarron (St. Joseph’s College) and Chris Chigas (Phoenix College) were selected to represent the Southland Vikings.
Southland’s 2.70 team batting average ranks second in the league behind only NWI.
Boehm has cracked four home runs and 23 RBIs to go along with his .400 batting average.
Lesiak, Hauge and Chigas have formed a formidable pitching staff in Southland. All four hold sub-two ERAs, with Lesiak leading the way at 0.65.
      The 2013 Midwest Collegiate League All-Star game makes its second trip to Oil City Stadium, the first coming in 2011, the year before the Oilmen joined the league. The first pitch is set for 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday, July 9.
      For those that cannot make it to the game, Oilmen broadcasters Jason Guerette and Jonas Nordman will have the call on and locally on AM 1230 WJOB. To listen on the internet, click the “Listen Live” tab at the top of the home page.

Press Release written by Brandon Vickrey

Search Archive »